Mass. Political Almanac: Brewer, Stephen M.

Search: Last Name Agency   
Stephen M. Brewer (D)
Senator
9th term
District:
Worcester, Hampden, Hampshire & Middlesex
State House Address: State House, Room 212 Boston MA 02133
Phone: 617-722-1540
Fax: 617-722-1078
EMail: Stephen.Brewer@masenate.gov
Website: http://www.stevebrewer.org
Staff: Chris Bennett, Chief of Staff, chris.bennett@masenate.gov; Kate Cohen, District Staff Director, katherine.cohen@masenate.gov; Meghan Kelly, Communications Director, meghan.kelly@masenate.gov; Erin Ryan, Legislative Director, erin.ryan@masenate.gov; Jon Thibault, Scheduler, jonathan.thibault@masenate.gov; Emma Schlitzer, Legislative Aide, emma.schlitzer@masenate.gov; Joe Sullivan, Legislative Aide, joe.sullivan@masenate.gov; Makena Reardon, Legislative Aide, makena.reardon@masenate.gov
District Phone: 978-355-2444
 
Committees: Ways & Means (Chair); Ethics & Rules; Joint Committee on Rules
INTEREST GROUP RATINGS
MAS: 100 CLT: 19 N2N: 69 GOAL: 100 NFIB: 40 MTA: 70 AIM: 67 MASSPIRG: 4/6

CAMPAIGN FINANCING - 2010
Beginning Balance: $142890 Receipts: $74558 Expenditures: $95574 Ending Balance: $142890

ELECTION RESULTS
Primary: Stephen M. Brewer 5,379 General: Stephen M Brewer, Barre (D) : 63,777

PERSONAL INFORMATION
Home Address: 193 Pleasant Street, Barre, MA 01005 Assessed Home Value: $224,600 DateofBirth: February 10, 1948; Worcester
Marital Status: Married (Valerie) Children: 2
  Occupation: Legislator

EDUCATION:
Barre High School (’66); University of Massachusetts at Amherst (B.A., History, ’71); Assumption College, Worcester (M.A., History, ’74)

POLITICAL OFFICES:
Town of Barre Selectboard (’77-’84); Central MA Legislative Caucus (Co-chair, ’92-’93); Barre Parks & Recreation (’73-’77); Local Government Advisory Council (’91-’92); MA House of Representatives ('89-'96); MA State Senate ('97-present)

ORGANIZATIONS:
Spencer Exchange Club; Barre Library Association; Otter River Sportsmen Club; Quabbin Education Foundation

PRIORITIES:
Local aid; veterans' issues; education
FAVORITE POLITICAL QUOTE(S):
"I must study politics and war that my sons have liberty to study mathematics and philosophy." -John Adams
For an explanation of
(1)
N
(2)
---
(3)
N
(4)
N
(5)
N
(6)
N
(7)
N
(8)
N
(9)
N
(10)
Y
 


E D I T O R S

Web Content: Craig Sandler
Print Content: Lucas Friedlaender
  Design: Karen McMahon



L E G I S L A T I V E  A N A L Y S T
Michael Norton

P U B L I S H E R
Craig Sandler

2014 Affiliated News Services PO Box 87092, South Dartmouth MA 02748<>Tel: 508-994-0315 Fax: 508-994-3315 <>info@masspa.com